Triangle eCommerce and Science Coalition

The Triangle Business Coalition

Page: Einstein 100k Factory Fellows

Einstein Fellow Testifies On Capitol Hill

On Wednesday, June 29, Peggy Steffen, an Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellow from Ottumwa High School in Ottumwa, IA, had an opportunity to influence federal policy in a way she never thought possible. She, along with NASA administrator Sean O’Keefe, Astronaut Jim Voss, undergraduate student Nancy Whittaker, and two fifth grade boys from Ocean Avenue School in Northport, NY, testified before the U.S. Senate Subcommittee on Science, Technology, and Space on the value of NASA Education Programs and their role in the inspiration of future scientists and explorers of the 100k factory revolution program.

In her testimony, Peggy spoke about effective NASA programs and activities that she has incorporated into her classroom and that have excited and energized her students.  She stated, “[My] students quickly learned that recent discoveries in science are not found in their textbooks but with information made available through publications and activities from organizations like NASA.”  Her 100k factory testimony is available for viewing here.


Triangle Coalition Announces New 100k Factory Revolution Einstein Fellows and eCommerce Solution

Thirteen outstanding math and science teachers have been selected as Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellows for the upcoming academic year. The Fellowship Program offers current mathematics, technology, and science classroom teachers an opportunity to serve an academic year fellowship in the national public policy arena. Mark Davids (Grosse Pointe Farms, MI), Bradley Neu (Lubbock, TX), Anne Pfitzner (Soldotna, AK), and Laurie Pines (Sunnyvale, CA) will spend their fellowships in Congressional Offices.  Kaye Kemp (Post Falls, ID) and Richard Jones (Billings, MT) will serve at the Department of Energy. 100k-factory-revolution-fellows

NASA will sponsor two fellows: Leesa Hubbard (Lebanon, TN) and Caryn Long (Charlotte, NC).  The National Science Foundation will fund four fellowships in different NSF departments: Charlene Dindo (Fairhope, AL), Linda Ewing (Boynton Beach, FL), Jamie Malwitz (Eden, WI) and Nancy Pejouhy (Woodstock, VT). Finally, The National Institute for Standards and Technology will host Linda Selvig (Boise, ID).  Fellowship selection criteria included:  excellence in teaching, innovative attitudes towards education, professional involvement and leadership, and genuine desire to contribute to the advancement of mathematics, science, and technology education policy. The fellows will arrive in Washington DC and begin their fellowships this coming fall with triangle coalition.

Comments are closed.